Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Discussion related to external OBD and other sensors
Post Reply
geebus
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 12:03 am

Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by geebus » Tue Aug 16, 2016 12:10 am

I got one of these:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0098T6FZ8/

Which I'm using on my Sony Z2.

It correctly reports the throttle and rpm; but only at 1hz.

Any suggestions of others to use that will give me a few more a second?

If need be, I'll shell out for the OBDLink LX/MX, but if there's others that will do as good/better job for less, I'd be interested to know.

I did like the look of the freematics, but seems it's a bit questionable.
(Liked the idea of maybe adding sensor for suspension travel etc.)

As you can see from the Amazon address, I'm in the UK.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9518
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by Harry » Tue Aug 16, 2016 9:10 am

Please use some OBD app (other than LapTimer) to check which protocol is actually used by the Triumph. LapTimer does not negotiate the protocol itself, so it can't be used to answer he protocol question. In case it is a pre CAN bus, you can get 2 Hz mostly but will never get a lot more. For these old buses I'd not recommend to invest a lot more. For CAN busses you should see 7 to 20 Hz update rates for genuine devices like the OBDLink LX.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
geebus
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 12:03 am

Re: Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by geebus » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:58 pm

Thanks.

It seems it's K-Line for the OBD on my bike.

(I haven't got my bike here right now, but from what others have done.)

There should be can bus between the ECU and the instruments, but that requires considerably more work than ordering from ebay and plugging it in.

Guess that means I'm limited to what I have?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9518
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by Harry » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:54 pm

Probably. 1 Hz is low for a pre CAN bus and a different adapter may give you the 2 Hz mentioned. Maybe you can use a friends adapter before ordering it.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
geebus
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 12:03 am

Re: Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by geebus » Tue Aug 23, 2016 6:07 pm

Cheers - ended up ordering one anyway.
Hoped to get it tested last weekend, but didn't have the chance.
czechstrs
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:31 pm

Re: Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by czechstrs » Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:33 pm

@geebus, I know this is an old forum but I'm wondering if you got something working? What year is your Triumph 675? I have a 2013 that I'm hoping to get talking to an OBD dongle.
czechstrs
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:31 pm

Re: Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by czechstrs » Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:03 pm

FWIW, I also have a 2018 Triumph Street Triple 765 RS and I just tried out a PLX Kiwi 3 v2.0 and was able to get RPM with it and throttle position, but not gear. Certainly better than nothing.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9518
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Which BT OBD - for Triumph 675 motorcycle

Post by Harry » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:10 pm

The gear is not delivered by OBD but calculated by LapTimer. Please configure wheel sizes, drive and gear ratios etc to allow LapTimer to do the math.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply