New users - Questions / Advice

Any discussion on using LapTimer. Please use this forum in case you need guidance on how to use LapTimer or perform a certain operation
ColinK
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts

New users - Questions / Advice

Post by ColinK »

Hello All and Harry.

i have been racing go karts for the last 6 months and found it was time to get an action camera.
Several of the chaps have GoPros or Drift HD's and there always been half an eye on using Laptimer and an Iphone for the GPS data and video overlays.

So yesterday i bit the bullet and purchased the app.
i am running an Iphone 4s 16GB.
as the karts we race are not our own it means i must mount my Iphone on my heltmet.
so i have ordered one of these Optrix XD4 iPhone Mount.

the first real test will be this weekend when i have two races.
a 40 Minuit race on Saturday, total record time will be around 60 mins in one go.
and a 60 min race on Sunday, total record time of around 80 mins in one go.

i have already set up a simple lap with 3 POI using the Google maps method and it worked a treat.

couple of question's.

as I'm in a kart and the iPhone is helmet mounted, I'm not going to have any power supply for it.
I'm also not going to be able to handle the phone when racing.
so I'm basically going to put it in the housing and tell it to start recording.
i will also set the focus lock at the same time.

after that i wont touch it again until the end of the race.

Will the battery of the Iphone 4s last as long as 80/90 mins when recording in one go ?
what video resolution is a good compromise ?

Are there any other setting i need to concern myself with ?
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: New users - Questions / Advice

Post by Harry »

Welcome :-)