[FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recording

Collection of all FAQs and HOW-TOs posted throughout the system. Read only.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by Harry »

There is a number of ways to combine data and footage from various sources. Please check http://www.gps-laptimer.com/LapTimerDoc ... hapter.pdf for all scenarios applicable for LapTimer. This includes overlaying on the iPhone and using external programs.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
nblumberg
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by nblumberg »

Harry,

I was out at a different track today, with the same result. Phone ready to capture video, connected to gopro (icon on screen), would turn the camera (from wifi standby) on, but would not trigger recording. gopro is a Hero3 Black, if that makes any difference.

Now to find out how to merge non-synced video with the apps data :)
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by Harry »

In what mode is your HERO when it is turned on? Video / Picture / etc?

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
nblumberg
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by nblumberg »

Video. Same if its standing by to hit the 'shutter' to start recording. iphone remote app and gopro remote trigger recording in the same mode.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by Harry »

You may check if you can control the HERO using a web browser:

Start the wifi of your HERO and turn it on (same status like that LapTimer initialized when opening the Video View). Join the HERO's network using your PC / laptop, open a browser and enter:

http://10.5.5.9/bacpac/SH?t=goprohero&p=%01

This should actually start a video recording. In case it works - that is strange. In case you it does not we can reproduce the situation and check what the problem is...

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
nblumberg
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by nblumberg »

I did it from an ipad. I get "403 Forbidden"
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by Harry »

In case you do not use the standard GoPro password "goprohero", you need to change that part of the url I posted above. Sorry for not mentioning that. It is not good practice to repeat wifi passwords in urls, but GoPro chose to do it like that (that's actually the reason it needs to be set in LapTimer's Settings too).

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
nblumberg
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by nblumberg »

Ok, yes the revised address triggered recording. If I get a chance I'll create a track around the block and try it out to see if I can get it to work in another setting. Perhaps I should try not in video mode, but just laptimer mode instead?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by Harry »

You need to select the video view, otherwise MultiCam is not active. Have you set your goPro password in LapTimer's settings too? I thought it would not turn on the cam with a wrong password either, but who knows...

Harry
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
francesco
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:22 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [FAQ] Preparing iOS and GoPro MultiCam Devices for Recor

Post by francesco »

Harry wrote:You need to select the video view, otherwise MultiCam is not active. Have you set your goPro password in LapTimer's settings too? I thought it would not turn on the cam with a wrong password either, but who knows...

Harry
Just to make sure, it is not possible to only use the GoPro cam as video capture. So to use an external camera you have to also use the iPhone internal camera. Afterwards you can change the master from iPhone to GoPro easily.

I would love to see my timer display during my runs on the track and have the GoPro triggered in the background.
Image Image
Post Reply