Telemetry Analysis Software

Any discussion on using LapTimer. Please use this forum in case you need guidance on how to use LapTimer or perform a certain operation
duc748
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by duc748 »

original question was how to analyze laps in computer
which soft to use?

I preferred this way... download laps
sit comfortably in front of notebook & analyze
not on iPhone
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10147
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by Harry »

Try VBO export plus Circuit Tools.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Girvamonkey
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:24 pm

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by Girvamonkey »

Hi Harry,

I've managed to export my weekend's worth of data to my Dropbox in .VBO format and when I open the files in Circuit Tools all of the data appears correctly....

HOWEVER... There is no video displayed. I'm just wondering if your .vbo export can also include the video? Or perhaps it already does but it's not working for me??

Is there any way you can change the .vbo export to also include the video so that it works in Circuit Tools?

Thanks!
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10147
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by Harry »

Bulls23 did some investigation on how it might work (it is complicated), maybe he can comment on this...

Currently no support on this by LT.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
bulls23
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 765
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:22 pm

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by bulls23 »

Here is what I found out:

Circuit Tools only supports AVI for videos. This isn't much of an issue, at least on Windows PC. Simply change the .mov to .avi. As long as the proper codecs are installed the video should play fine.

The vbo must have columns / values for avifileindex and avisynctime and you have to put those labels in the header section.
The header of the vbo also needs to have the section [avi] which contains the prefix of the video file (e.g. "IMG_").
The data column of the avifileindex only contains the rest of the video file name (e.g. 1234 for the video file: IMG_1234.avi) and must be applied for every gps fix line.
The avisynctime contains the time code of the video file in milliseconds synced to the gps fixes. Convert the video time of your lap to milliseconds and then use Excel or something similar to create the rest of the values for each gps fix (bottom to top). Since v16 does interpolate to 10Hz it's easy. The video time should be a little bit shorter than your lap time. For the remaining gps fixes at the beginning simply add -00000001 as value for the avisynctime. All millisecond values should be 9 digits, so add zeros to your values. Now you should be ready to go. If video and data are out of sync, you have to add or remove -00000001 in avisynctime. VBO and AVI have to be i the same folder for Circuit Tools to open both.

Search for "filetype:vbo avisynctime" in Google.that way you find original VBOX vbo files with video data. Take a look at those and compare with the Laptimer VBO to better understand the differences.
Girvamonkey
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:24 pm

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by Girvamonkey »

lol Yikes! Yes that is quite complicated but I will give it a try!

Harry: Perhaps you could try to implement this into a future version... Someday... When you get a chance. :P Maybe around v19? ;)
User avatar
francesco
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:22 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by francesco »

Thanks Bulls23 for the tips! I managed to sync my session data in Circuit Tools, great for analyses. It is still a bit off because I managed to sync the data by "eye" only. With the GPS info from my iphone, which is a little off also, it is difficult do specific analysis therefore a 10hz gps sensor is needed i guess (eg. lap comparision). But with this setup the overview of data for basic use is perfect.

A question about the laptimer, is it possible to bulk export laps to VDO? Instead of 1 session without making distinction between laps? I am missing the subject [laptiming] with lap/section data in de exported VDO file of a session. Or is this not possible?
Offcourse I can export lap per lap from HLT but if this workflow could be faster :)
Image Image
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10147
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by Harry »

VBO files are usually a continuous flow of GPS positions - no laps or other separations (CT breaks down laps itself). LapTimer actually reconstructs this continuous flow from individual laps. I'm not sure anything but such a flow would be accepted, so I took sessions - which fulfill this requirement.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
francesco
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:22 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by francesco »

I saw a option were one VBO is loaded and several laps can be selected, it is also in the option menu, show whole file/show laps, or could this be split times?

From this example http://www.alfa-pages.co.uk/TempPicture ... OX0003.vbo

Code: Select all

[laptiming]
Start   60.95059 3124.72268 60.95103 3124.72260 ¬ 
Split   60.69513 3124.72563 60.70637 3124.73025 ¬ 
Split   60.58614 3124.38235 60.58031 3124.38623 ¬ 
Split   60.92369 3124.51743 60.90762 3124.50778 ¬ Straight
Split   61.17099 3124.62609 61.16183 3124.62845 ¬ Brooklands
Split   61.26345 3124.54862 61.25470 3124.54708 ¬ Luffield
Split   61.18643 3124.69125 61.19934 3124.68508 ¬ 
On second tought... this example is probally not best as these are probally splittimes of the lap but the video guide of the Circuit Tool shows this: http://youtu.be/X3jhSCsXm44?t=1m28s
Image Image
User avatar
francesco
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:22 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Telemetry Analysis Software

Post by francesco »

I just installed a newer version of Circuit Tools (v2.0.0.947), unfortunatly this version does not work well with HLT. I think some information is lacking from the VBO export. Does someone have the same experience or am I doing something wrong?

Maybe someone can share the old installation file of a previous version of Circuit Tools :)

Edit:
I now added the *.cir file of the circuits and loaded the right circuit in first place. Then try to load the VBO file from HLT but get the following error. The VBO seems to lack UTC Time format? The other channels seem to be in the file. Is this a HLT problem or Circuit Tools?
Attachments
channels.png
channels.png (25.73 KiB) Viewed 4897 times
Image Image
Post Reply