Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Any discussion on using LapTimer. Please use this forum in case you need guidance on how to use LapTimer or perform a certain operation
Post Reply
jluthman
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:06 pm

Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Post by jluthman » Thu Jun 20, 2019 12:05 am

[MOVED TO USING LAPTIMER]

The LapTimer triggered the camera to record. I've got the video in two files (mp4). I copied all of the *2188.* files to {android}/Movies.

I go to the first lap that ended at 1:36.17 and add the video. I specify the frame matching the end of the timed lap and hit Set.

It asks if I want to adjust all video/sync points for the session or the lap, I've tried BOTH.

When I try to export it the complaint is "Number of laps available for multi lap overlays reduced due to inconsistent sync points. Please adjust the lap's sync point and agree to adjust the full session."

The pop up says Invalid master video - error here: https://imgur.com/a/IaMelIf
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9402
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Post by Harry » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:14 am

Hello,

In case you run in the 4GB limit for GoPros, they will split what is actually one session video into multiple chunks. To use such a recording with LapTimer, join the files to one mp4 file first. Take care to join the main video files only, not thumbnails etc. You can use the free Handbrake application to do this.

The message says the master cannot be accessed. Two possible reasons: 1) You have not Re-Linked the video after transferring it 2) the video linked is corrupted.

I assume it is the former: after transferring a video to the smartphone, you need to make sure the video sync information associated with your laps points to the video copied. To do this, select any lap from Lap List, find the NO VIDEO placeholder in the Video section of the lap's details, and select it. You will be in Video Details afterwards, with many fields empty / unresolved. To associate this placeholder to your video, select the Re-Link icon in the bottom right (two cams) and select the video transferred.

Now, you are ready to watch the overlaid video or export it.

You can find more information on handling external videos in Video Documentation available from www.gps-laptimer.de/documentation.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
jluthman
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:06 pm

Re: Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Post by jluthman » Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:01 pm

The file limits are actually 2GB. It splits at that point. Is it required to join the files? I never had to in the past. What if I just want one lap to have video/export?

Two possible reasons: 1) You have not Re-Linked the video after transferring it 2) the video linked is corrupted.

Regarding 1: I transferred the video first. Then linked it.

Regarding 2: The video plays just fine if you click on it through LapTimer. It plays just fine on the GoPro/Windows as well.

I'm pretty sure the video specified is right because I'll see a thumbnail on it and if I click it I can play the video and such.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9402
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Post by Harry » Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:20 am

The file limit will depend in the model and file system the SD card is formatted with. Independent from 2 or 4 GB chunks, a join is required in case you want to overlay any lap visible in any but the first chunk. For laps in the first chunk, a join is not required.

As long as you get that message, LapTimer is not able to decode video information. This can be a problem with the file not being accessible, corrupted, not linked correctly. Please join and try again.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
jluthman
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:06 pm

Re: Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Post by jluthman » Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:06 pm

If I want to add video to just the one lap, I would not need to join the video. Isn't that what you said?

If so, would the next step be to copy the video over again?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9402
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Post by Harry » Mon Jun 24, 2019 4:09 pm

In case the lap is covered by the first chunk, you can copy this chunk, re-link the lap's video placeholder to this video, and overlay it. All of this is provided the video is sound / not corrupted.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
jluthman
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:06 pm

Re: Adding GoPro3 videos to laps/sessions fail,

Post by jluthman » Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:59 pm

I believe my two issues were that a) I need to combine the two files into one (as I needed the last lap on the first file and the lap completes in the first few seconds of the second file) and b) I need to specify the master video and not the second PIP video (I did this on previous versions of LapTimer though I don't recall why. I exclusively use GoPro footage.)

For anyone else looking back in this thread, I tried VLC to combine the videos and that didn't work quite right. There's an open source tool called MP4Splitter that worked for me.
Post Reply