How to configure timer screen fields

Any discussion on using LapTimer. Please use this forum in case you need guidance on how to use LapTimer or perform a certain operation
Post Reply
aMacUzr
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:46 am

How to configure timer screen fields

Post by aMacUzr »

Searched, but couldn't find an answer for this one.

When started using manual mode, the timer screen shows, amongst other fields, the speeds for the previous "Straight" and "Curve" along with the "Last Max" G-force. This is what I want.

However, whenever I'm on the track, I get "Coolant" temp instead of "Straight" speed and "Gear" number instead of "Curve" speed.

How can I ensure that the timer display will always show the speeds for the previous "Straight" and "Curve" along with the "Last Max" G-force?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to configure timer screen fields

Post by Harry »

You can’t as long as you have an OBD adapter connected. If available, LapTimer switches the named fields to OBD data. In case you are focused on speeds (and use the iOS version), you can try Speedo View from Analysis / Real-time, it will always show the latest min / max range.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
aMacUzr
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:46 am

Re: How to configure timer screen fields

Post by aMacUzr »

Thanks for the response. I hereby request an enhancement that allows the Timer display to be "locked" to always show the speeds for the previous "Straight" and "Curve" along with the "Last Max" G-force (i.e., even when LapTimer also has an OBD connection).

The reason is that I include the Timer screen in track videos where the videos are made using RaceRender because I'm combining multiple video sources (none of which are from the iPhone that's running LapTimer). The Timer screen is quite useful when doing post-event analysis (I actually don't look at it while on the track) since it often points to "areas of interest" which I can then examine using the Circuit Tools software.

QUESTION:
The only OBD-based data I want is wheel speed and turbo-boost data (since I video the instrument cluster for other stuff, to avoid timing delays, jitter, dropouts, etc.) ... if I explicitly remove all the other PIDs (via "Exclude PIDs"), what would the Timer screen show?

CRASH:
BTW, with GP Edition v22.1.4 running on iPhone 6 with iOS 10.2.1, starting LapTimer with no external GPS/OBD connections and starting the Racer's screen then tapping "Current Lap" causes LapTimer to crash.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to configure timer screen fields

Post by Harry »

You can’t tweak the display by removing PIDs. OBD field not available will simply show n/a. RPM must not be included for several reasons.

I have reproduced the crash, will be fixed for v23z

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply