Hillclimb - Configuring track

Any discussion on using LapTimer. Please use this forum in case you need guidance on how to use LapTimer or perform a certain operation
User avatar
dominator293
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:44 am

Hillclimb - Configuring track

Postby dominator293 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:08 am

Harry,

Our local hillclimb track isn't listed in your app, so I was going to configure it manually using the AutoCross item to do it. However the way our track is laid out may be a lot different to others in the way the start and finish lines react.

Start: You need to break the starting beam before staging (whether this be with a burnout or driving through the beam and reversing back up). So I imagine harry's would start the lap as soon as the beams broken for the first time if I set that as the start position which I don't want to happen.

Finish: The finish line is different to the start line, and you actually cross the finish line twice over 1 lap (it's a round course and you cross the finish line once about 10 seconds into the lap, then come around again to record your final time). How would I calibrate Harry's to not finish the lap once the finish line is past for its first time?

Thanks in advance,
Dom


mx5sprinter
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:45 pm

Re: Hillclimb - Configuring track

Postby mx5sprinter » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:49 pm

I have a similar issue - my events usually have a single start line from which we do a standing start. The finish line is often crossed twice before the clocks stop. Is this a supported configuration?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8795
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 362 times
Contact:

Re: Hillclimb - Configuring track

Postby Harry » Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:23 pm

You can change the stop trigger to a stop/go trigger. This will finish a "lap" when crossing the line, but start another one instantly. This means you will get two "laps" for one run and need to add up times. But better than nothing I guess. A feature request on triggers firing after a certain number of crossings is on my list but will be cumbersome to handle for most.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
mx5sprinter
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:45 pm

Re: Hillclimb - Configuring track

Postby mx5sprinter » Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:13 pm

Interesting. Will it cope with lap deltas given that lap 1 will be a different length and slightly different route to the other? The start line is crossed just once, but the finish twice.


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8795
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 362 times
Contact:

Re: Hillclimb - Configuring track

Postby Harry » Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:11 pm

Lap to lap comparisons will make no sense.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
mx5sprinter
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:45 pm

Re: Hillclimb - Configuring track

Postby mx5sprinter » Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:33 pm

Thanks for the clarification. Doesn't look like the product is much use to me then.



Return to “Using LapTimer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests