manual start video

Any discussion on using LapTimer. Please use this forum in case you need guidance on how to use LapTimer or perform a certain operation
arsprod
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

manual start video

Postby arsprod » Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:59 pm

Since the recent upgrade manual start sets the timer going but is not triggering external video (gopro). Is this by design or is there another setting that needs to be changed to enable this?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8212
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 341 times
Contact:

Re: manual start video

Postby Harry » Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:49 am

Please use the video recording option utilizing both internal and external video. The external only option seems to be broken currently.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
arsprod
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: manual start video

Postby arsprod » Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:02 pm

Ok, glad it wasn't me!


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8212
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 341 times
Contact:

Re: manual start video

Postby Harry » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:14 pm

Although I received some reports on problems with starting external cams, I can't reproduce the behavior external cams are triggered when both internal and external are selected, but not when external only is selected. This either means the connection issues are not related to the "external only" at all and the issue has different causes - or it occurs for special cam / phone models only.

To verify, please post your complete smartphone (device type, OS version) and cam version.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
arsprod
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: manual start video

Postby arsprod » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:20 pm

I haven't tried it yet using both internal/external - next race is the 29th. I was going to wait until then but will do a test this evening!


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8212
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 341 times
Contact:

Re: manual start video

Postby Harry » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:30 pm

Please try it using manual recording first:

goto Settings and tick "Manual Timing"
goto Timer, connect the external cam and enable video recording "external only"
press Start and check whether the HERO starts recording
in case it does not, select "internal and external" and try again

In case it doesn't work for the first, but for the second, please provide me with the system information requested.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
arsprod
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: manual start video

Postby arsprod » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:33 pm

got it


arsprod
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: manual start video

Postby arsprod » Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:41 pm

ok tested on 2 different phones

Device: Motorola Droid Razr M
OS: Android 4.4.2
Camera: GoPro Hero 3

- GoPro only, Start: timer goes, the movie camera icon flashes with the green dot but camera does NOT start
- internal/external camera, start: timer goes, gopro starts recording

Device: Samsung Galaxy S5
OS: 6.0.1
Camera GoPro Hero 3


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8212
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 341 times
Contact:

Re: manual start video

Postby Harry » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:01 pm

Thx, and it occurred for both phones?

Harry


Image Image Image Image
arsprod
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:06 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: manual start video

Postby arsprod » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:12 pm

No sorry, it works fine for android 6 on 5s. The rest of my post went away from previous post?



Return to “Using LapTimer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests