Use questions - iphone video

Any discussion on using LapTimer. Please use this forum in case you need guidance on how to use LapTimer or perform a certain operation
shadowpuck
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★

Use questions - iphone video

Post by shadowpuck »

Hello all.
I've used Harry's laptimer for a while now to record my laps. I've always then manually linked the video from an older gopro camera to the data from laptimer.

This upcoming season, I'm going to switch to using my iphone 4s (or maybe a 5c or 5s) to record the video so the lap data sync process is easier to handle.

At the events I participate in, we can have data/telemetry but any lap timing data cannot be visible to the driver in real time.

I'm pretty sure I can accomplish this in laptimer while using the video mode - however, i've never done it before so i'd like some confirmation on what i can do. i have no need to look at any data from laptimer real time, so i'm guessing i can just tell it to background record and then show the view for gps or something like that - which is what i've done in the past - just without video.

second question - what's the easiest way to get the video off of my iphone so i have room to record more?
i'd like to overlay the laps, then pull all the video from that session off the phone so i have storage space available for the next recording session. i would then (at a later date/time) resync the overlaid lap videos for selected laps using the standard process inside laptimer.

thank you!
bulls23
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★

Re: Use questions - iphone video

Post by bulls23 »

Background video recording while in GPS view will work fine just like you described.