Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Help on issues you run into with LapTimer; in case you have a question on how to use LapTimer, use the forum "Using LapTimer" instead
Post Reply
Stenman16
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2021 3:36 pm

Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Stenman16 »

I recently added TPMS. HLT is able to detect the sensors and show pressure and temperature. However, every time I am ready to start a session, I get the red warning telling me there is a problem. Unfortunately, the feedback when I click the warning is all in German. I can’t figure out what I need to do to properly set up/calibrate/reset to make the red warning go away.
Are there instructions anywhere in English to get the tires functionality in the app set up properly? I can’t seem to find it… Thanks!
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Harry »

Hello,

Please send a snapshot of the German instructions shown. I assume you have English settings for the rest of the app? Maybe there is some missing or mixed up term.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Stenman16
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2021 3:36 pm

Re: Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Stenman16 »

Here you go…
Attachments
0129B80A-ED21-467F-9572-6B9A58EE3C0B.png
0129B80A-ED21-467F-9572-6B9A58EE3C0B.png (1.75 MiB) Viewed 192 times
7EF661D1-1F91-485F-A8EA-9737EDB57AB1.jpeg
7EF661D1-1F91-485F-A8EA-9737EDB57AB1.jpeg (190.56 KiB) Viewed 192 times
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Harry »

Ok, I will check the translation for the next release. The warnings says, that either battery level, tire pressure or tire temperature is outside the expected range. Target pressures can be set in the dialog shown in the second snapshot. Temperatures are predefined depending on the tire type, and valid battery levels are predefined by the sensor integration. In case you have a LapTimer edition supporting the Tires View, have a look into it. I assume the warning is on too cold tires. ;-)

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Harry »

Translation problem found and fixed. The text should be:

"Problem with tires detected. This may be battery, pressure, or temperatures. Please check Analysis ‣ Realtime ‣ Tires for details."

and

"Set <hl>pressure expected</hl> for tires of this axle. LapTimer will use this value to monitor <hl>actual values</hl> and issue a warning in case it is off."
Image Image Image Image
Stenman16
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2021 3:36 pm

Re: Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Stenman16 »

Thanks!
Here are screenshots of my tires pre-session and post session. I don’t understand why it is orange pre-session and red post-session. My target pressures are set at 37 psi all the way around
Attachments
68F489A1-ABC1-4141-96A3-5DFAF5659AA5.png
68F489A1-ABC1-4141-96A3-5DFAF5659AA5.png (713.86 KiB) Viewed 186 times
D0A90D6E-83C2-45D5-8203-5B1DF4800370.png
D0A90D6E-83C2-45D5-8203-5B1DF4800370.png (720.81 KiB) Viewed 186 times
Stenman16
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2021 3:36 pm

Re: Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Stenman16 »

Also, what does the “calibrate” button there do?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10124
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Tires Setup Instructions for HLT?

Post by Harry »

Please double check the current tire pressure settings in LapTimer ‣ Administration ‣ Settings ‣ Expert Settings ‣ TPMS Tweaks. It looks like ~30psi trigger a warning and ~34psi an error. So either the target pressures are lower than this (Expert Settings) or there is another problem. The setting is interpreted as psi or Bar depending on Metric/Imperial settings - which is a potential source of problems. :-(

Calibrate is used to calibrate sensor temperatures. The ideas is to calibrate temperatures in a situation you are sure all four tires should have the same temperature - e.g. in the morning in a garage. Select Calibrate in such a situation. LapTimer will compensate temps measured by a by-tire calibration value so all four show up with the same temperature. One time operation.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply