Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Help on issues you run into with LapTimer; in case you have a question on how to use LapTimer, use the forum "Using LapTimer" instead
tonytkdk
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:55 am

Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by tonytkdk »

Does anyone use Harry's laptimer with your Supra yet? May I know which OBD2 that you are using have a decent OBD2 rates for Harry's? The Tonwon BLTE works well for my Porsche 981 and Mazda. But when attach it to Supra, the update rate is pretty low even stick to 0. I wonder which BLTE OBD2 works. Thanks
Attachments
IMG_2247.PNG
IMG_2247.PNG (501.01 KiB) Viewed 610 times
IMG_2249.PNG
IMG_2249.PNG (1.14 MiB) Viewed 610 times
tonytkdk
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:55 am

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by tonytkdk »

Hi Harry,

Do you have any idea?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by Harry »

tonytkdk wrote: Sun Jun 21, 2020 3:34 pm Hi Harry,

Do you have any idea?
Please have a look into viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1500.
This looks like some compatibility problem. I'd start with disabling parallel requests.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
tonytkdk
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:55 am

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by tonytkdk »

Hi Harry,

No luck with disable parallel requests. Also I reset the settings to default. The result remain the same.
I think it’s a compability issue with Harry’s.
Any suggestion to move forward? I’ve ask few 2020 GR Supra owner, Harry’s never works well with Supra for them. Few guys switched to TrackAddict.
I still want to use Harry’s tho.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by Harry »

Yes, please follow instructions in the link provided and send a log of the communication between app and car. The Supra has probably some non standard behavior. LapTimer has no carctyzpenspecific Code but will rely on a proper OBD implementation.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
tonytkdk
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:55 am

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by tonytkdk »

I can get 14Hz by reset the expert setting and use TCM. I can GET 14/4 Hz update from OBD2 now.
But the overlay engine RPM displays is not smooth as I had with another car. Any suggestion?

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nn3cnNJ ... e=youtu.be[/youtube]


Thanks
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by Harry »

Can you send a snapshot of Sensor Information like you did in a former post?
I doubt I can do a lot, but who knows...

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
tonytkdk
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:55 am

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by tonytkdk »

I switch back from TCM to ALL. Here's the current update rate. I'm curious the meaning of the rate.
What does 40/6/5/12means?
Is 12 the request rate by laptimer? And 6 is the actual response rate from the OBD2.
IMG_0849.PNG
IMG_0849.PNG (1.38 MiB) Viewed 493 times
Thanks
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9985
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by Harry »

40 (raw) means 40 PIDs per second received
6 (gross) means 6 full sets of PIDs per second received
5 (net) means 5 full distinct sets of PIDs per second received
12 (request) means LapTimer issues 12 ELM327 requests per second

Gross and net will be the same for most sensors, ELM327 based OBD sensors in particular.
LapTimer groups individual PIDs to PID sets (made up from rpm, wheel speed, map, maf etc) and aligns them with GPS.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
tonytkdk
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:55 am

Re: Supra OBD2(Tonwon BLTE) with Harry's laptimer not working well

Post by tonytkdk »

Nice explanation. I understand it a bit more now. It sounds like the more requests be issued by Laptimer the better.
I attached three different settings. I do really want to make the overlay smoothly for the speed and engine RPM.

Also sent the GPS/OBD buddy verbose debug log to you. In case of ALL, would it be better to exclude some PIDs those Laptimer doesn't use? I assume the PID looks like $01$0F IAT . Can such PID be excluded to help? Any document of how to exclude PID?

From the attached ALL-aggresively setting, the row was 35 and Laptimer issued 17 reqs/sec. Does it mean the ALL-aggresively the best option for GR Supra + Tonwon OBD2 combination?

2020 GR Supra 3.0 with Tonwon BLE dongle
SOFTWARE
Product: Harry's GPS/OBD Buddy
Version: v23.0.11 - Build: Dec 5 2019, 09:59:36
MD5: 6bf35e87246b600e86e5343e0abd1fba

SYSTEM
Device: iPhone - Model: iPhone X (AT&T/T-Mobile/Global/A1901)
OS: iOS 13.5.1 - Databases: L76G75V74E00P6AT00
Attachments
TCM-enabled.PNG
TCM-enabled.PNG (1.24 MiB) Viewed 489 times
ALL-Aggresively.PNG
ALL-Aggresively.PNG (1.26 MiB) Viewed 489 times
ALL-optimize.PNG
ALL-optimize.PNG (1.23 MiB) Viewed 489 times
Post Reply