Can't select vehicles

Help on issues you run into with LapTimer; in case you have a question on how to use LapTimer, use the forum "Using LapTimer" instead
spjonez
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:28 pm

Can't select vehicles

Postby spjonez » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:52 pm

Hi when I try to find a new car by searching for "Porsche" the list ends at Mini and the autocomplete doesn't match what I've typed. I do have a Mini defined if that matters. I'm trying to add the Porsche Cayman S I just bought and don't want to manually enter every field. It's been a while but if I recall correctly if I select the car from the autocompletes LapTimer will fill in most of the fields for me other than the gear ratios. Cheers!

I'm using version 22.0.4.


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9013
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 378 times
Contact:

Re: Can't select vehicles

Postby Harry » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:20 pm

LapTimer’s own vehicle database is incomplete. As long as you do not use OBD, there is no need to enter data beyond the 5 or 6 fields in Vehicle Search. Just enter these fields and press New. Actually there is a description in this dialog saying exactly this.

Harry


Image Image Image Image
spjonez
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:28 pm

Re: Can't select vehicles

Postby spjonez » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:57 am

When you say OBD do you mean something like a Kiwi 2? That's what I used with my previous car. I see the text you mentioned on the screen that has options for Make, Model, Year etc. I guess I'm surprised not a single Porsche is listed when the Make screen says, "Make of vehicle, e.g. 'Porsche' or 'Ford'". It's literally the first make listed in the app text :? Have you considered adding a share feature so users can contribute to your database?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9013
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 378 times
Contact:

Re: Can't select vehicles

Postby Harry » Mon Sep 17, 2018 6:36 am

Users can share vehicles already, we have 1600 submissions to quality assure currently. To get gear calculation and reasonable rpm ranges, please enter values in the Powertrain and Engine section.

Harry


Image Image Image Image
spjonez
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:28 pm

Re: Can't select vehicles

Postby spjonez » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:52 pm

Oh I didn't know I could share profiles. That's great. How do I share mine, do I send it to your support email address?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9013
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 378 times
Contact:

Re: Can't select vehicles

Postby Harry » Sat Oct 13, 2018 5:58 am

Once your vehicle is fully defined, you will be prompted to submit your definition.

Harry


Image Image Image Image

Return to “Trouble Shooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest