Can't connect GoPro Hero4 Session to Grand Prix Edition

Help on issues you run into with LapTimer; in case you have a question on how to use LapTimer, use the forum "Using LapTimer" instead
rkneeshaw
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:35 pm

Can't connect GoPro Hero4 Session to Grand Prix Edition

Postby rkneeshaw » Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:12 pm

I can't seem to figure out how to get HLT to connect to my Hero4 Session.

I thought it was recording yesterday at an HPDE but I got nothing. Upon looking closer, when I'm on the Timer screen and touch video, and select external camera only, it says in red "no external cam connected currently".

I tried:
1. starting the gopro and making sure wifi mode was enabled and blinking blue on the gopro. HLT doesn't connect to it.
2. starting the gopro and making sure wifi mode was enabled and blinking blue on the gopro. Launched the GoPro app and confirmed I got a video preview from the gopro app. switched to HLT with the GoPro app running in the background. Wouldn't connect. Closed the gopro app, and HLT still wouldn't connect.
3. starting the gopro and making sure wifi mode was enabled and blinking blue on the gopro. Launched the GoPro app and confirmed I got a video preview from the gopro app. Closed the gopro app, launched HLT, HLT still wouldn't connect.
4. starting the gopro and making sure wifi mode was enabled and blinking blue on the gopro. Connected to the gopro wifi using the wifi control panel in android. HLT still doesn't connect.

I've read the documentation and it is older but still, I tried following it to the letter but I must be missing something.

Does anyone have a successful step by step they can share?

Android 6.0.1
GoPro Hero4 Session (latest firmware 2.0)
HLT Grand Prix v21.0.11
External cam set to "GoPro Hero4 Session" in settings, Hero3 password set correctly


ivegotpost
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:49 pm

Re: Can't connect GoPro Hero4 Session to Grand Prix Edition

Postby ivegotpost » Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:25 pm

did you put the gopros wireless password in the multicam options in settings?

I've just upgraded to Grand Prix for multicam and that caught me out at first too


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8446
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Contact:

Re: Can't connect GoPro Hero4 Session to Grand Prix Edition

Postby Harry » Fri Feb 02, 2018 3:37 pm

ivegotpost wrote:did you put the gopros wireless password in the multicam options in settings?

I've just upgraded to Grand Prix for multicam and that caught me out at first too


The password is used for HERO3 cams only. But a second try is always a good idea! :-)

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
rkneeshaw
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:35 pm

Re: Can't connect GoPro Hero4 Session to Grand Prix Edition

Postby rkneeshaw » Fri Feb 02, 2018 4:28 pm

Yep, I did try putting in the gopro's password anyway, just in case, and repeated the tests, and there was no change.

I've resorted to recording the video on the gopro manually, then at the end of the day I transfer the video from the GoPro to my computer, then to my smartphone's SDCard, then open HLT and manually sync the data and the video, then re-export from HLT and move it back to the computer for upload to youtube and archive.

GoPro studio sucks for splicing the 12-minute-max go-pro clips together, but I downloaded ffmpeg and one simple command line joins them together seamlessly, quickly, and flawlessly each time. But all that is another story.



Return to “Trouble Shooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests