LAP TIMING

Help on issues you run into with LapTimer; in case you have a question on how to use LapTimer, use the forum "Using LapTimer" instead
stuwy9
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:33 pm

LAP TIMING

Postby stuwy9 » Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:45 pm

sorry if this has been answered lots of times but im new to this and ive recently done a couple of trackdays both where ive tried to hide my phone in the pocket and ive used my go pro separate to the app
ive found there is no data recorded im asuming due to bad gps and i am looking into a external unit as we speak

my question is, is it possible to use this app purely to manually add my lap times ive go from my video from the go pro without any data?
i would be very grateful if someone can help me i can time them with a stop watch but this is very 70s
thanks in advance


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8298
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: LAP TIMING

Postby Harry » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:33 pm

You need to place your phone in a position like shown in illustration #3 of Quick Reference. Even with an external GPS, the app needs to run in foreground and must not be in sleep mode. A manual mode is available (Settings ‣ Manual Timing) but strongly discouraged for security and precision reasons.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
firestater9664
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:08 pm

Re: LAP TIMING

Postby firestater9664 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:11 pm

I am having the same issue on at my local track using an external GPS. I went to the track and it only recorded 1 session out of 5. I have used it before with the same phone and gps with out issue as recently as a month ago.


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8298
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: LAP TIMING

Postby Harry » Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:10 pm

firestater9664 wrote:I am having the same issue on at my local track using an external GPS. I went to the track and it only recorded 1 session out of 5. I have used it before with the same phone and gps with out issue as recently as a month ago.


It is difficult to say from the distance. You need to find the difference between now and the past. It is not about the app version but some configuration issue, handling, problems with GPS connection etc. I know this is not too helpful, but you need to check all the usual suspects - LapTimer's Heath Status in particular.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image

Return to “Trouble Shooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests