Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Help on issues you run into with LapTimer; in case you have a question on how to use LapTimer, use the forum "Using LapTimer" instead
Post Reply
devarenacn
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 12:40 am

Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by devarenacn » Tue May 03, 2016 12:51 am

Hi, I just updated to the latest version of HLT, and when I use the last version, my camera could connect, even though it may took a while, but in this version I waited 20 minutes, and it still won't connect, telling me there's no external camera. Now I have linked my camera with my phone via Wi-Fi, and I used Sony's app and can see the image, so I will assume that the connection is good. But when I open HLT it still telling me cannot find external camera, and I have closed the app the restart it over and over again, still nothing. Any known issue for now? Thanks!
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9581
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by Harry » Tue May 03, 2016 10:51 am

I received 2 more reports on this but cannot reproduce it. I need to add I do not have a Sony app installed at all and I have a Sony HDR-AS15 for testing only. I tried to reproduce the issue yesterday, but it worked flawless for this combination.

In case you are using an Android phone, you may help with sending a log. Instructions are included in viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1933.

The trace / log classes to check are "External Cam" and "MultiCam". The sequence to log is opening Video Operation, selecting External Cam Only and waiting for a minute. Afterwards, close the dialog again and stop the log.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
devarenacn
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 12:40 am

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by devarenacn » Tue May 03, 2016 6:40 pm

Unfortunately I only have an iPhone, and my camera is X1000V, I have connected to it successfully before, not sure what's the issue here. Anyway to get the log on iOS devices?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9581
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by Harry » Tue May 03, 2016 10:26 pm

Logging is not available for LapTimer iOS production apps, just during betas. Usually GPS / OBD Buddy is used for production test, but this apps missed the video stuff.

Please verify if the new activation scheme is used correctly first. The cam controlling stuff has not been changed in v20, it is just the way it is activated. To activate external cams, either the right most or second right most icon needs to be selected in Video Operation dialog (the one coming up when pressing the Video button). Going into Video View alone will not do the job any more, the Setting to activate MultiCam has been replaced by Video Operation dialog too.

As written above, I used my Sony HDR AS15 today and without issues. It is certainly possible there are differences between the models, but I'd hope that's not what needs to be trouble shooted in the future.

May I ask Android users with Sony cams to verify operation and come back here with success or problem feedback on specific Sony cams?

Harry
Image Image Image Image
aaronc7
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 3:09 am

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by aaronc7 » Sat May 07, 2016 6:08 pm

Android user with Sony AS100V here. I tried this earlier with no luck, but just tried again and it worked fine. This time I "forgot" my home wifi network to make sure it wasn't switching back over. I verified it was connected to the cam prior to launching app, went to timer mode, turned video to external only.... manual start. Video recording started and stopped.

My biggest gripe would be that it forces 1080p30 mode, would like to use the 60fps option.

Hope this helps/
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9581
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by Harry » Sat May 07, 2016 6:13 pm

In case you do not want LapTimer to switch resolution to best compatibility, select MultiCam Preset ‣ None in LapTimer's Settings. Please keep in mind 60 fps video may fail during overlay.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9581
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by Harry » Sat May 07, 2016 6:14 pm

General comment on this thread. Problems with Sony cam connection are probably due to item #7 listed in Known Problems (viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1693). In case you run into problems with 20.0.7, restart LapTimer and follow the workaround description in the above link.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
aaronc7
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 3:09 am

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by aaronc7 » Sat May 07, 2016 7:14 pm

Yep that worked and you are correct. 60 FPS video I had to use software encoder, but it did work..slowly.
johmei
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:25 pm

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by johmei » Tue May 17, 2016 7:45 pm

I had problems connecting my Sony HDR-AZ1 to my iPhone two weekends ago. I just tried it at home and it seems like it was just a matter of waiting for a couple of minutes in the "video source mode" and it came up. But even though the AZ1 shows up as connected it does not record when using manual timing buttons. How do I best/easiest verify that multicam works with the external AZ1 while at home?
BMW 335i E92 - iPhone 6 paired with Dual XGPS150A as HLT master, Optrix XD5 cased iPhone 5 and Optrix HD cased iPhone 4 as multicams.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9581
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect to Sony Action Cam

Post by Harry » Tue May 17, 2016 7:55 pm

The connection should be established within a few seconds. Please check your WiFi connection otherwise. To test operation, turn on Manual Timing in LapTimer's Settings. Enable external cam only in Timer ‣ Video and verify the cam is connected. Press Done. In Timer view, press the Start button now. Both recordings and Sony should start. If not, please follow instructions in viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1933 to generate a log. Start the log ahead of enabling external cam only mode. Ticks External Cam and MultiCam trace classes, enable External Cam only, wait for connection, press Done, press Start. Wait a few seconds, stop the recording, stop the log, and send it to me (Harry@gps-laptimer.de).

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply