OBDII Data

Help on issues you run into with LapTimer; in case you have a question on how to use LapTimer, use the forum "Using LapTimer" instead
Gsyk59
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:34 pm

OBDII Data

Post by Gsyk59 »

I'm running PetroHead version 19.02.29 on a Galaxy S5. I've got it connected to a OBDlink Bluetooth adapter. I can see the RPM and coolant temps on the screen while driving, however, when I overlay the video, I don't get any of that information. Also, same thing happens when I try to use Dashware to make a video with Harry's data and my GoPro video. I know the data is there, because I can see it when I open the CSV file. Just looking for some insight into what might be the problem.
Thanks
Gsyk59
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: OBDII Data

Post by Gsyk59 »

Forgot to mention, I've got the OBDlink plugged into a MegaSquirt 3 with OBD.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: OBDII Data

Post by Harry »

Please export *one lap* not showing OBD gauges when overlaid to a video to .hlptrl and send it to me (Harry@gps-laptimer.de).

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Gsyk59
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:34 pm

Re: OBDII Data

Post by Gsyk59 »

Ok, it appears the data issue may have been me. I went to some other laps and was able to get the data to overlay with the gauges. I'm going to go through my laps and see if I can find the one that looked wrong yesterday.
Thanks for the response, but hopefully it was just me being stupid and not an issue with the app.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: OBDII Data

Post by Harry »

I assume the lap you selected had no OBD data. You can see the types of fixes recorded for a lap in Lap Details: select any lap from Lap List and scroll down to the Data Recordings section. The row "Fixes" shows the number of fixes and type of data (GPS, OBD, ACCEL).

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
momankin
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 3:09 am

Re: OBDII Data

Post by momankin »

hey Harry, I have the same problem too.

I mainly have 2 problems.
1. It doesn't show the correct date like YY/MM/DD on overlaid video
2. It doesn't show the OBD2 data on overlaid video

I can see all data during recording on the screen but OBDII gadget always shows "none".

What should I check? or anything to do with the settings?

I had bought for over a year and can never get it done ... feeling sad ... T^T
Attachments
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-22-29.png
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-22-29.png (242.57 KiB) Viewed 2642 times
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-22-17.png
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-22-17.png (167.87 KiB) Viewed 2642 times
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-13-43.png
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-13-43.png (148.33 KiB) Viewed 2642 times
momankin
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 3:09 am

Re: OBDII Data

Post by momankin »

here are another 3 screenshots
Attachments
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-32-47.png
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-32-47.png (142.66 KiB) Viewed 2642 times
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-32-37.png
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-32-37.png (219.08 KiB) Viewed 2642 times
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-22-44.png
Screenshot_2016-02-26-15-22-44.png (249.31 KiB) Viewed 2642 times
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: OBDII Data

Post by Harry »

Yes, as discussed by mail: LapTimer will not store OBD data as long as no GPS data is available. The GPS stream defines the storage rate in LapTimer. In case it is 0, no OBD data will be stored either. Even if it is available and displayed in real time.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
dookie454
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:22 am

Re: OBDII Data

Post by dookie454 »

Hello, I have the same problem when OBD adapter (GoPoint BT1) is plugged in and showing data on the screen, I get no OBD data saved in the files, confirmed by looking at the CSV's.

I have GPS data though, set manually to 10z, My GPS is sending around 5hz at the moment Should I change this to "GPS SPEED"?

Also, when my OBD adapter is plugged in (GoPoint BT1), then my "Speed" on the video screen just shows 0. IN the Overlay video, that shows good speed though, with probably 5hz update rate, the same as the GPS is putting out.

How can I fix these two problems? Is this related to having a manual 10hz Laptimer log rate with 5hz GPS data rate?

Thanks!! This is a great program BTW.

Have this GPS/OBD problem with both BTLE GPS devicesI tried, one is the 818GT, the other is Renato's BonoGPS with a Neo M8N... <-- accuracy is excellent with this BonoGPS/Neo M8N setup! Not as great with the 818GT>. Edit... Mr Bonomini himself says the 880MN may be a better choice, as the M8N seems to be limited to 5hz when the Galileo is on, it runs OK at 10hz with GPS and GLONASS though.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: OBDII Data

Post by Harry »

Hello,

In case I remember correctly, there have been some issues with OBD recordings when using the Video Preview while driving. This is the reason the alert is shown when bringing up the Preview (checking field of view only etc). So can you please clarify if you used the Video Preview while recording? In case you did, please try Timer or Engine etc view for a test.

Using a 5Hz GPS with 10 Hz storage rate is a pretty special setting, not covered by regular tests. For a 5 Hz GPS I recommend using GPS Rate independent from the problem we are discussing currently. So for the next test, please switch to GPS Rate.

Next, please let me know what you see in Engine View with the BT1 connected and the engine running. In case you do not have GrandPrix (i.e. no Engine View), use the GPS View - it will show some OBD data in the bottom of the screen.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply