MK2 no NMEA data

Discussions on all kinds of sensors (GPS, OBD, video/audio) and other accessories like mounts
MrBlah
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:35 am

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by MrBlah » Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:35 am

I just logged the mk2 to sd card, and I can see it has this column with valid data in it

Speed | "mph"|0.0|150.0|25
gplracerx
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Kingsport, TN USA

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by gplracerx » Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:12 pm

HLT may be case sensitive. Can you change "mph" to "MPH" in the mk2?
MrBlah
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:35 am

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by MrBlah » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:33 am

attempted to but the log no speed data in the custom columns, all zeros. I posted the LUA over on the racecapture forum
MrBlah
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:35 am

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by MrBlah » Sat Dec 10, 2016 10:48 pm

I have the speed channels working now, had to change lua a bit, but harry's laptimer still does not pick up the speed

hoping harry fixes this soon? Right now it's a 450 $ paperweight I'm afraid I'm past my return time
gplracerx
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Kingsport, TN USA

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by gplracerx » Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:50 am

Does the Mk2 have direction channel? I'm beta testing the iOS RaceCapture app and it's not there even though the RaceCapture device is supposed to have a magnetometer as well as a GPS.

I see one of the bugs is that the RaceCapture device won't link GPS data to iOS Location Services either.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9077
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by Harry » Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:47 am

As of firmware 2.7.9, RCPro II did not deliver direction. I will verify this for the latest firmware once I start working on RC again. For RCP, LapTimer derives direction from GPS position changes - which requires low passing due to the noise in positions delivered. The original value delivered by the GPS chip should be more instant because more sophisticated algorithms are applied.

Integration into iOS Location Services requires providers to go through the Mfi program. As ASL does not, it will work with RCP customized apps only. As RCP addresses a very special use case, and LapTimer makes up by far the biggest track app market share, this is probably acceptable, but it is a disadvantage of using WiFi instead of a BT Mfi integration.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
gplracerx
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Kingsport, TN USA

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by gplracerx » Thu Dec 15, 2016 5:50 pm

I've been bugging ASL on their forum about implementing direction channels too. They also don't think that integration with HLT is their problem. I think they're making a mistake. Their app has a long way to go to match HLT, which is also constantly improving.
MrBlah
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:35 am

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by MrBlah » Sat Dec 17, 2016 4:17 pm

I asked for it too, at least in LUA so we can get the data out
MrBlah
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:35 am

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by MrBlah » Mon Jan 30, 2017 11:55 pm

have there been any updates on support? I might try to downgrade my firmware to one that works with harry's laptimer properly.

first track weekend in 2 weeks! autocross
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9077
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: MK2 no NMEA data

Post by Harry » Tue Jan 31, 2017 12:06 am

I will not be able to publish any public updates before LapTimer v21 in Spring. The earliest option to get your hand on updates will be the beta - sometimes in late February.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply