USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Discussions on all kinds of sensors (GPS, OBD, video/audio) and other accessories like mounts
xps911
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:35 am

USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by xps911 » Tue May 06, 2014 4:30 pm

If I want to use my go pro, can I put my iphone in the middle glovebox on a Porsche, or does it need to be in a better place?
thanks
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9544
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by Harry » Tue May 06, 2014 5:09 pm

Needs a better place - not because of the video but because of the GPS. LapTimer will be kind of "blind" when operated like this, you always need to take care it placed so GPS is at the max.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
jwmelvin
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 1:28 pm

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by jwmelvin » Tue May 06, 2014 6:53 pm

Harry, if one is using external GPS and video, then am I correct that the only restriction is that the screen should not face vertical (i.e. the phone should not lay flat)?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9544
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by Harry » Tue May 06, 2014 10:26 pm

Yes, here is the full story...

- Harry
Attachments
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (357.17 KiB) Viewed 2709 times
Image Image Image Image
xps911
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:35 am

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by xps911 » Thu May 22, 2014 8:41 am

When I go to multi cam under settings and try and town on discover, it says bluetooth needs to be on, I press ok, and the slide turns back to off. im trying to connect to the go pro which works over the wifi
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9544
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by Harry » Thu May 22, 2014 8:52 am

LapTimer is not allowed to turn on BT itself, this is powers reserved to the user... Please use the standard iOS Settings app to turn on BT.
Image Image Image Image
xps911
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:35 am

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by xps911 » Thu May 22, 2014 8:57 am

sorry harry im confused, why do I need to turn bluetooth on, if i want to talk to the go pro ?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9544
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by Harry » Thu May 22, 2014 9:03 am

MultiCam controls other iOS devices (BT) and GoPros (Wifi). To force BT here is simply to make sure all combinations will work once the user says "I want to use MultiCam".

Harry
Image Image Image Image
xps911
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:35 am

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by xps911 » Thu May 22, 2014 9:06 am

ah i see, and then i can disable bluetooth once im talking to gopro?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9544
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: USing a gopro - where to put iphone?

Post by Harry » Thu May 22, 2014 9:13 am

You may try but that's cheating the system. Maybe you succeed, maybe the system strikes back and disables MultiCam again ;-)

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply