For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Discussions on all kinds of sensors (GPS, OBD, video/audio) and other accessories like mounts
Metalgearsolid_x
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★

For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by Metalgearsolid_x »

Hey guys,
I have been searching, browsing and watching this forum for a while. I am a occasional track driver (2-3 HPDE events per year) that have focused his attention to autox this year. I am so hooked on autox, I want to do (been doing) 2-3 sessions per month.

I have been eyeing out harry's lap timer for a while. I think it's one fantastic software. Thank you harry for giving us such awesome product for barely any $$.

Now the most important questions. I have been reading and I found out that GPS upgrade is mandatory for autocross because everything is happening soo fast. So instead of the cheaper stuff, I want to buy the Vbox sport as it has the 20 hz refresh rate. This should be perfect for autox. Now I was looking into OBD to add on to this. I was leaning toward Go point GL1 because it doesn't use bluetooth (it's wired) and since it's wired, there's no lag in data? what's your input? My other option will be BT1 but Harry said not to overload bt frequencies.

Thank you for you help :)
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by Harry »

For GPS, you consider the upcoming XGPS160 too. It will feature 10 Hz - which is most probably good enough even for AX. On BT / wiring: every sensor has a lag between the event itself, and the time it arrives in LapTimer. But this lag has an impact for realtime viewing of data only. Any recording will add the offset thus correcting the lags (it can be fine tuned). On the other hand, if you have an iPhone4 / 4S (connector topic), you may indeed opt for the GL1 to have the BT bandwidth available for VBOX / XGPS.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Metalgearsolid_x
10 or more Posts ★