For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Discussions on all kinds of sensors (GPS, OBD, video/audio) and other accessories like mounts
fluppie00
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 9:58 pm
Location: Antwerp, Belgium

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by fluppie00 » Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:43 pm

Could it be a feature in future Harry's Laptimer GP Edition's that the app automatically syncs this? That you have to do a few test drives/laps to calibrate your sensors/Phone/OS combination.
Or it this not a good idea?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9656
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by Harry » Thu Sep 19, 2013 12:14 am

Yes, that is planed. On the other hand, the discussion (so far) showed the default values are pretty good.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Metalgearsolid_x
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:58 am

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by Metalgearsolid_x » Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:50 am

Harry,
I ran into a little problem and need your help.

I had a fantastic setup. I had iphone 4s with xgps 160 (10 hz) and Gopoint Gl1. Everything worked fantastic especially after your fine tuning. But I recently traded my iphone 4s for an iphone 5s. I bought one of those cheaper non apple 30 pin to 8 pin connector from amazon and it did not DETECT the GL1. It did start charging the iphone but no detection for the lap timer GL1. So I went ahead and bought this: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/apple-light ... Id=6651881 It's the apple oem 30 pin to 8 pin connector. Is that the solution? or I'm missing something? Thanks Harry for your help.


Here's how my last setup was. Everything is pretty accurate. Except I still can't my g meter to get fast and accurate :(
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2sxINhs_K4[/youtube]
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9656
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by Harry » Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:43 am

Hi,

Actually I can't answer this (no access to a GL1 or the adapter). I'm aware not all 30pin accessories work well with the various adaptors, but this needs to be checked individually. Have you tried contacting GoPoint in this?

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
chknhawk
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:44 pm

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by chknhawk » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:23 am

Metalgearsolid_x wrote:Thank you Harry. I think I'm getting better at it. This is the video from LAST autox event. It seems very fluid. I forgot what was my obd gl1 setting (I believe it was .5s) but video came out nice.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vziBO2pGY-M[/youtube]

Gopro hd camera
AK! duh.. i just realized this was you... lmao. nice. trying to get some videos together now from this weekends fun times.
Metalgearsolid_x
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 7:58 am

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by Metalgearsolid_x » Sun Aug 30, 2015 5:10 am

chknhawk wrote:
Metalgearsolid_x wrote:Thank you Harry. I think I'm getting better at it. This is the video from LAST autox event. It seems very fluid. I forgot what was my obd gl1 setting (I believe it was .5s) but video came out nice.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vziBO2pGY-M[/youtube]

Gopro hd camera
AK! duh.. i just realized this was you... lmao. nice. trying to get some videos together now from this weekends fun times.
hey it's me! haha

BTW, here's the last video I used GL1 and xgps160 used with iphone 5s harry's and it worked great. Take a look:

https://youtu.be/ebW636J8sbk


Question for Harry:
HOWEVER, I have just sold the xgp160 this week. So is there a way I can "configure" in setting for the app to grab more (as much) data from the OBD via GL1 vs. gps (since I sold xgps)? or it'll always defaulted to same?

Thanks
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9656
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: For Autocross: Vbox Sport + BT1 or Vbox Sport + GL1 ?

Post by Harry » Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:33 am

GPS dictates the amount of data stored in LapTimer. This means you will get one record from GPS and OBD per second only now.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply