How to set up a Autocross

All threads that are outdated are moved here.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8592
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 354 times
Contact:

How to set up a Autocross

Postby Harry » Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:00 pm

Here is a short step by step on AutoX:

    01 Start LapTimer
    02 Navigate to 'Lap List' View and press the button 'Manage Track Sets'
    03 Press 'Add new'
    04 Enter a name 'AX June 4 11' [example]
    05 Select that track [back in Lap List now]
    06 Navigate to 'GPS' View
    07 Walk to the starting line
    08 Press the '+ Flag' icon
    09 Select 'AX June 4 11' as the 'POI Set'
    10 Scroll down to the 'Trigger' section
    11 Select the 'Go' Trigger
    12 Return to the 'GPS' View
    13 Walk to the finish line
    14 Repeat steps 8 to 12 but select the 'Stop' trigger this time
    15 Navigate to 'Classic' (or any other timer view)
    16 Mount the device and drive

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Sharaf
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:44 am

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby Sharaf » Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:46 am

I have a small question, Usually the autox I go to, has this setup:

Its 2 laps, but the times count as single run.
And each lap has different setup\layout, but its starts and ends at the same POI, and sometimes you pass by the starting line during the run as a gate.

here's a sample video, the starting line at 0.20, and its a flying start.

http://youtu.be/6NHB21Gs32c?t=16s

my question is, how to setup it on HLT?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8592
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 354 times
Contact:

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby Harry » Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:45 pm

I do not fully get the layout from the video. At least for the "starting line" and the first crossing of this gate in the opposite direction, you need to set up a "Go" trigger including a driving direction. The driving direction needs to be added manually (Lap List -> POIs and Triggers -> Trigger -> Direction). It is needed to make sure the trigger fires in one direction only. Maybe you want to send a sketch, so I can fully answer.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
gplracerx
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 823
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Kingsport, TN USA
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby gplracerx » Wed Oct 09, 2013 5:02 pm

Sharaf,

180 and especially 360 turns around a single pylon is not very imaginative course design. Roger Johnson in his course design manual ( http://houscca.com/solo/courses/Course_Design_4-1-2.pdf ) calls a 360 degree turn around a cone a "No Fun Maneuver". I agree completely. If you need to keep speeds down, offset gates or a Chicago Box (a walled three cone slalom) are much more interesting.

I couldn't draw the course from watching the video either.


Sharaf
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:44 am

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby Sharaf » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:15 am

Okay, here's another one which i think is more clear and visible:

[youtube]http://youtu.be/BUSioyIlKT4[/youtube]

1-Start point @ 0:22, then I go right off track do some orders(slalom and 360 and stuff)
2-Go on track again @ 0:54, then I will do small maneuver.
3-I will pass by the start point again 1:02
4-Then will do a full track run.
5-Pass by the finish point smae POI as the start point @ 1:45.

So, during the run, I passed by the Start POI three times.

P.S: this autox is held at Dubai Autodrome oval circuit.

Picture of the oval circuit and drawing by my-hand the layout(sorry for the bad hand written and drawing, never was my talent :) )
Image


The numbers list on the drawing is not related to the number list above describing the video


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8592
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 354 times
Contact:

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby Harry » Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:04 am

Sorry for being stupid, but I cannot figure out how you are driving through the gates from the drawing... Instead of comparing the drawing and the video again, can you please give the full route you are going something like "(1) Entry Point -> (2) Start POI -> etc."?

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Sharaf
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:44 am

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby Sharaf » Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:51 am

The best I can do

Its a clockwise run.

Image


User avatar
bulls23
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:22 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby bulls23 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:06 am

If each of the 3 "laps" counts as one individual timed run then you only need to set up one start / finish trigger. If you would need the total time as one in such a layout, Laptimer would need some kind of "ignore trigger x times" function to be able to pass a trigger without firing.


Sharaf
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:44 am

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby Sharaf » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:49 am

Its 2 laps only, and Yes, the time needs to be combined.

I think the "ignore trigger x times" function is wht I am looking for, but is it available?


User avatar
bulls23
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 744
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:22 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: How to set up a Autocross

Postby bulls23 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:05 pm

No, it's not :-(



Return to “Outdated”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest