Page 2 of 2

Re: External mic or change audio source?

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:25 am
by Harry
This configuration looks pretty good!

Re: External mic or change audio source?

Posted: Tue May 19, 2015 3:12 am
by glennQNYC
Harry wrote:The selectable audio stream is on my list, but is not scheduled yet. Haven't been aware on the HERO mic but agree adding cables to the roof is not great.
I am surprised adding an external mic to an iPhone master isn't more popular. Please consider this post a contribution to the request box. :)

Last year I made a foam windscreen for my iPhone 5s, this year I got a little more fancy and purchased some Rycote Micro Windjammers for my iPhone 6. While I am able to manage wind buffeting the mic; my master iPhone is just not in a great place to pick up audio.

Re: External mic or change audio source?

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:38 pm
by Loris4Stegan
xps911 wrote:thanks for the reply. An interesting idea to add the audio source after, but what I love about the harrys laptimer is that it doesnt take long to do, and that would be another process, to add into the mix.

Have you any thoughts on being able to select the audio? As I could quite happily purchase a BT mic for the iphone, and have it mounted somewhere, which would be recorded from the iphone footage.

HERO do to an external microphone, it's an official usb to aux: http://www.amazon.co.uk/GoPro-3-5mm-Her ... 00A3MY7L8/

but you will need a new case: http://www.amazon.co.uk/E-PRANCE-Skelet ... 00ITHMOLO/

and then a microphone of some sort, but the idea of a cable flapping around at speed..........
Thanks for the post, My question is, even when I delete the primary iPhone video, is HLT not able to pull the audio source from the GoPro (external mic)?

Re: External mic or change audio source?

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:53 pm
by Harry
LapTimer always used the audio stream coming with the Master video. This is independent from the source (internal cam or action cam) - it is just a question of the video's role during overlaying. What is not possible - and this is what this discussion has been about - is to select an arbitrary video from master + multiple PiPs for using its audio track.

- Harry

Re: External mic or change audio source?

Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:13 pm
by gplracerx
You could do it, but it's not trivial and can't be done inside HLT. You'd need to demux the relevant videos, i.e. split the audio and video streams with the appropriate program on a computer, and then combine the audio track you wanted with the video you wanted, remux and transfer to the phone or whatever for overlay. As I said, not trivial.