Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Discussion related to external cam aka action cams and lenses
Post Reply
SuperDuper
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:43 am

Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Post by SuperDuper » Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:15 am

Hi All,

How can I use two GoPro HERO4 Silver at the same time with only one Android device? I want to aim the first GoPro toward the front of the car and use it as the base video feed for rendering, and then aim the second GoPro toward the rear of the car and make it a PIP. The HERO4 can be remotely contolled though wifi, but I can only see how to do that with one GoPro at a time in LapTimer, especially since each camera makes its own private wifi network my cell phone has to connect to and it can't do both at the same time.

I suppose I could use the second GoPro independently and remix the two video threads later on but I would need an easy way to synchronize the two video feeds.

Is there something I simply don't get here?


SuperDuper
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9034
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Post by Harry » Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:26 am

Remote controlling two action cams through WiFi doesn't work. LapTimer v22 will probably support triggering recordings through BT, but that's a plan only currently. v22 is the 2018 Spring release.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
SuperDuper
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:43 am

Re: Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Post by SuperDuper » Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:36 pm

Ok, thanks for the answer Harry.

SuperDuper
SuperDuper
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:43 am

Re: Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Post by SuperDuper » Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:16 am

Would it be possible to use two GoPro by using two cell phones, each one connected to a single GoPro through wifi, adn then synchronise the PIP in some way?

I've got an old Apple 3GS phone, but I think it is limited to iOS 6.1.6 which may be too old for this either.


SuperDuper
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9034
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Post by Harry » Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:27 am

SuperDuper wrote:Would it be possible to use two GoPro by using two cell phones, each one connected to a single GoPro through wifi, adn then synchronise the PIP in some way?

I've got an old Apple 3GS phone, but I think it is limited to iOS 6.1.6 which may be too old for this either.

SuperDuper
Yes, possible, but you will need to adjust the sync point slightly when adding the second video to the first phone. There are some runtime effects that will not be the same for two phones. The 3GS can't be used any more, you will need at least a 4S.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Dubbedown
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Post by Dubbedown » Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:58 pm

Harry wrote:Remote controlling two action cams through WiFi doesn't work. LapTimer v22 will probably support triggering recordings through BT, but that's a plan only currently. v22 is the 2018 Spring release.

- Harry
Is this pending update for iOS users as well or Android only?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9034
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Two GoPro HERO4 Silver with one Android device

Post by Harry » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:50 pm

Both.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply