2 Numbers displayed for update rate?

Discussion related to external OBD and other sensors
Nurv2600
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts

2 Numbers displayed for update rate?

Post by Nurv2600 »

Hi, I've been using HLT for a few years now, across multiple iPhones and have always had great results with it. I recently bought a Kiwi 3 Bluetooth module, which after a few small changes in expert settings, is now working great (and after the most recent v20.0.18 update, I NEVER have to unplug/re-plug it to get it recognized, which was a rare occurrence as it was). However, I have noticed that A: it's not quite synced up with my video like everything else is (all the data from internal sensors such as GPS and accelerometer), and B: the update rate is typically given as something like "18/4", with the first number typically between 15-19, and the second between 3-4. I know I can probably get the data synced up better by playing with the delays in expert settings, but I'm wondering if this update rate makes sense? I'm running this with a 2012 Honda Civic Si, using the ISO 15745-4 protocol, 29 bits at 500kbps. I've played with the expect settings EXTENSIVELY, and did a little research, I'm positive this is the right protocol since it works fine and gives what *appears to be* a decent/appropriate update rate, but I want to be sure. Most of all, I want to know why the update rate is given as 2 numbers; in all my reading throughout these forums, everybody else seems to give their OBD update rate as a single number. Thanks for the help and clarification!

EDIT: As a side note, I noticed that I can crank up the accelerometer refresh rate all the way to 100Hz, which I've done; is there any downside to this? I'm currently on an iPhone 6S w/ 128GB storage, so if the only downside is additional system load and storage for the extra data points, I should be fine, right? Thanks for clearing this up as well, I'm trying to really get the most out of my data collection devices!
Harry