Messed up expert settings...

Discussion related to external OBD sensors
Psymon
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:26 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Messed up expert settings...

Postby Psymon » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:13 pm

I go the latest Kiwi 3 BT ODB adaptor, but it's buggy and I don't haven't got the chance to upgrade the firmware yet (don't have Android).

So I reverted back to my previous WIFI ODB adaptor, it's VGATE which is a China copy of the KiwiWifi. I was working fine with HLT.

However while trying to set up the Kiwi 3, I reseted the expert setting along the way, and now HLT is not working with the WIFI ODB adaptor. It's connected and available under the sensor list as "KiwiWifI", but shows RED for ODB update rate. And I don't get the Coolant temp and gear position at all. I've tried resetting the Expert Settings to default but didn't work.

Below are the current Expert Settings. Can someone give my some tip on how the Expert Settings should be? The car is Porsche 997.1 C2S.
IMG_6610.jpg
IMG_6610.jpg (111.75 KiB) Viewed 2017 times

IMG_6611.jpg
IMG_6611.jpg (103.35 KiB) Viewed 2017 times

IMG_6612.jpg
IMG_6612.jpg (102.55 KiB) Viewed 2017 times


Psymon
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:26 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Messed up expert settings...

Postby Psymon » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:14 pm

IMG_6613.jpg
IMG_6613.jpg (106.14 KiB) Viewed 2015 times

IMG_6614.jpg
IMG_6614.jpg (108.84 KiB) Viewed 2015 times

IMG_6615.jpg
IMG_6615.jpg (97.44 KiB) Viewed 2015 times


Psymon
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:26 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Messed up expert settings...

Postby Psymon » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:15 pm

IMG_6616.jpg
IMG_6616.jpg (99.53 KiB) Viewed 2015 times

IMG_6617.jpg
IMG_6617.jpg (106.79 KiB) Viewed 2015 times

IMG_6618.jpg
IMG_6618.jpg (105.04 KiB) Viewed 2015 times


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9014
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 378 times
Contact:

Re: Messed up expert settings...

Postby Harry » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:01 pm

I cannot see anything wrong... Try power cycling everything (car, OBD, smartphone, app) and try again. In case it doesn't work, please follow instructions in viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1500 to send a log.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9014
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 378 times
Contact:

Re: Messed up expert settings...

Postby Harry » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:03 pm

One item maybe: in case you are sure your car has a modern CAN bus, CAN Multi Requests (ELM327) set to 3/adaptive is fine. In case you have an older bus protocol, you need to switch it to Off.


Image Image Image Image
Psymon
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:26 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Messed up expert settings...

Postby Psymon » Thu Mar 17, 2016 2:15 pm

Harry wrote:One item maybe: in case you are sure your car has a modern CAN bus, CAN Multi Requests (ELM327) set to 3/adaptive is fine. In case you have an older bus protocol, you need to switch it to Off.


This was it! Got it working now. Thanks!

However, the Gear info is still not accurate. Is it suppose to take the data via the OBD? Or it just estimate the Gear I'm in base on the RPM and the speed of the car?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9014
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 378 times
Contact:

Re: Messed up expert settings...

Postby Harry » Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:06 pm

It is not estimating, but calculating gears from rpm, speed, wheel size, and ratios. All of this needs to be configured for your car. Create it and enter values in the power train and engine section. The default (Porsche 911) works mostly, but will show some issues when ratios are completely different.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Psymon
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 8:26 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Messed up expert settings...

Postby Psymon » Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:08 pm

Got it! Thanks for the tips. I'll check those values as well.



Return to “OBD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests