New to HLT from the Android world... trying to get tach info

Discussion related to external OBD and other sensors
normgoesracing
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts

New to HLT from the Android world... trying to get tach info

Post by normgoesracing »

Hi,

So excited to finally have this app for Android, Big thanks Harry,..

I've done a couple sessions lately and everything seems to be working great using the default phone sensors... Unfortunately, my vehicle is a bit of an oldie, a '87 BMW 325IS, So I do not have ODB2 sensors to get all geeky data (being a database analyst, I love this stuff), however I have a friend that has an '05 M3 that I've been bugging him to use my ODBLink bluetooth reader...

either case, He didn't want to fiddle around with it right at the track, so I've been fiddling around with it with my daily driver (an '03 Pontiac Vibe) around my block... I believe I'm missing something though, I know for a fact that the my bluetooth ODB2 reader works with my phone (Samsung Galaxy S2 with version 4.1.2) as I've used other apps to diagnose this car, and HLT even connects to the device in the sensor list, however when I try do to the video overlay using the Dashware app with my gopro video, there doesn't seem to be any data collected from the ODB2 reader, the CSV file has no data in the fields...

Am I missing something?

Thanks,

PS. I think I'll try tracing the connection as I've read in another post on this forum, see what comes up, but I have a feeling its something so simple that I've simply overlooked...
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: New to HLT from the Android world... trying to get tach

Post by Harry »

Hi,