GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Discussion related to external OBD and other sensors
tulloch
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 am

GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by tulloch » Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:06 pm

Just got myself the GoPoint BT1 dongle and there is a firmware update available. As this needs to be done in the car can anyone tell me:
How long it takes?
Can the car be driven during the update?

Thanks.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9128
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by Harry » Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:08 pm

The update does not take long, sub-minute if I remember correctly. You need to handle your iPhone during update, so do not drive during the update please.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
tulloch
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:30 am

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by tulloch » Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:41 pm

Thanks. Would only have considered driving if it was going to take a while and required no input.
Ray_S
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:12 pm

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by Ray_S » Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:03 pm

I have not figured out how to update

- just start the BT1 app on the iphone while the BT1 is connected in the car and the update starts is what I understood

- is that how it works?

TIA
Rainer
------------------------------
Porsche 996 turbo Cab
Blitz05
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:59 pm

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by Blitz05 » Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:37 pm

Ray_S wrote:I have not figured out how to update

- just start the BT1 app on the iphone while the BT1 is connected in the car and the update starts is what I understood

- is that how it works?

TIA
Rainer
I'm thinking by now, you have already updated it, but yes. It's pretty straight forward.

Piece of advice to anyone else that hasn't updated yet and is concerned...first, make sure the iPhone is either plugged into a car charger or has a substantial amount of battery power left in it.
User avatar
metro2084
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:53 am

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by metro2084 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:33 pm

I just recently bought bt1 and it’s showing firmware 161.0
How do I update it? I’ve downloaded gp1 app for iPhone but there’s no option to update..
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9128
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by Harry » Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:34 pm

Please install GoPoint’s app for accessory maintenance.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
metro2084
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:53 am

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by metro2084 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 7:54 am

Harry, I did install it, but there's no option to update.. and its not updating itself when you start the program like some people say.

and second question. Looks like that old firmware is not supported by lap timer? BT1 is connected but after the race there is no obd data available..

Thanks.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9128
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by Harry » Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:04 am

There are two GoPoint apps on the store, please make sure you have the right one. In case you can find the update option, please contact GoPoint for support.

The only problem that occurred with older BT1 firmware versions has been an issue with requesting the battery voltage. If nothing else works, please search for this topic here on the forum and disable the battery PID.

Finally, please make sure you have the right BT1: the BT1 is for iOS only while the BT1A is for iOS and Android.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
metro2084
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 4:53 am

Re: GoPoint BT1 Firmware Update

Post by metro2084 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:34 am

yes, I've contacted support, we'll see what they say.

But still, what about obd data not being recorded? Before the race, in system status it shows GoPoint in green color, so its connected.. After the race I go to lap list and there's no obd data symbol.
Post Reply