Garmin GLO GPS support

Discussion related to external and internal GPS sensors
StigSarre
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 7:49 pm

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby StigSarre » Thu Nov 21, 2013 7:54 pm

Hi there. :)

Since I am not using any Apple products, I was wondering how the Garmin GLO is working with an Android device?

If not very good, which GPS would you recommend for Android now?

Best regards
Stig Sarre


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8297
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby Harry » Thu Nov 21, 2013 8:45 pm

While not recommended for iOS (they do not allow a direct integration on Apple's platform and do not achieve the advertised 10 Hz), it should actually work just like any NMEA GPS on the Android version. I just tested it and it connects and LapTimer reports 10 Hz. I have not ran any recording, so I cannot comment on accuracy etc.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
kofiboakye
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:57 am
Location: london

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby kofiboakye » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:06 am

Hello all, I've just bought the Garmin Glo and updated the firmware, via Harry's lap timer app I'm getting up to 9Hz but my on-track results are poor. As a customer I'm happy to contact Garmin support to push them to offer developer support for you, I think that's what is needed, right?

I can't seem to find the appropriate email, does anybody have their contact details, not the sales one.

ta


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8297
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby Harry » Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:36 pm

Android or iOS? For Android there has been a problem with all LapTimer versions up to 18.0.5 - it reported 10 Hz but stored 1 Hz only. This is fixed in the latest version. For iOS, the GLO is not a perfect solution as long as a direct integration is not possible.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
kofiboakye
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 7:57 am
Location: london

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby kofiboakye » Tue Apr 08, 2014 5:17 pm

I have the latest version of Harry's Laptimer on my iPhone 5s. If you have an email for Garmin, I'll ask them when they'll allow direct integration, otherwise I'll sell it and buy the VBox instead


Navarroone
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:52 am

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby Navarroone » Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:00 am

Hi Harry,

in the last 5 years, have you managed to update to incorporate the popular Garmin Glo for faster GSP refresh?

Brgds Allan


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8297
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby Harry » Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:53 am

Within the 5 years Garmin Glos are available, Garmin has not opened up iOS access to their device for 3rd parties. :-(
For Android, LapTimer accesses the NMEA stream, i.e. is fully integrated.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
HiFiGuy
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:26 am
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby HiFiGuy » Sat Jun 03, 2017 5:42 am

4 1/2 years on, how is the integration now, with Android particularly, when using the Garmin GLO?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8297
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Postby Harry » Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:24 pm

Old thread here... The Glo is supported for iOS now too. It has always been supported for Android.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image

Return to “GPS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest