Garmin GLO GPS support

Discussion related to external and internal GPS / GLONASS / Galileo / BeiDou sensors
GOGOGadget
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:08 am

Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by GOGOGadget »

Harry

Any plans to support the Garmin GLO Bluetooth GPS?
10hz and GLONASS
https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=109827
Seems to be perfect for Lap Timer
Gadget
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by Harry »

Looks nice but does not seem to be certified by Apple (Made for iPhone = Mfi) - like so many other GPS sensors...

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
GOGOGadget
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:08 am

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by GOGOGadget »

Harry,

According to Garmin in the US the product is MFi. The manual has the Apple logos and a comment about Apple compatibility.
I would like to use it since its 10hz,bluetooth with a pretty long battery life,replaceable battery plus its Garmin (I'am a stock holder).
Thanks
Gadget
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by Harry »

Hi,

So if it is Mfi, it will connect and be used immediately by LapTimer. To get the extra information, I need to access the device directly. This needs to be supported by Garmin. In case you can make a contact for me, that's appreciated.

Harry
Image Image Image Image
bazza51
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by bazza51 »

I've git a Garmin Glo. Connects okay but update rate only 2.7 - 3 hz. Limited satellite info as well due to no NMEA data coming through. There is definite speed update lag compared to a vbox mini. Curiously when i hook up vbox via cable to a pc and connect the glo to pc via bluetooth and compare the speed data live on a pc, the vbox and glo seem to display almost identical speeds with no lag. So it appears the lag in speed update is somewhere in the bluetooth link to iphone or in the lap timer software.
Any ide ad to when this can be fixed? Do the other 10 hz units update at 10hz?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by Harry »

Hi,

At least I know it is not trivial to get high update rates through Apple's location stack. So maybe Garmin needs to work with Apple to improve that. As long as a device is not integrated on NMEA level, LapTimer has no influence on the update rate. It simply takes what it gets from iOS. The BadElf delivers 10Hz for LapTimer although it is not integrated directly. So 10 Hz are possible.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
bazza51
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by bazza51 »

Is the glo now officially supported by your software? Is it possible to utilise NMEA date stream?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by Harry »

Not including direct integration. I will try to add this, but I depend on Garmin to support me. It will work like any Mfi certified device however.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
bazza51
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:43 am

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by bazza51 »

Cheers. I'm speaking to Garmin support too. Seems very few pc or iphone apps suport 10 hz anyway apart from specialist lit which comes with its own software!
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10004
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Garmin GLO GPS support

Post by Harry »

Hi,

Short update as I received my GLO today: it connects to LapTimer at 3.5 to 4.0 Hz currently (using an iPhone5 and iOS 6.0.1). In its current state, it cannot be integrated directly (so no advanced accuracy and satellite information) as it has no public accessory interface available. I keep pushing to get a direct integration but fully depend on Garmin here.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Post Reply