External GPS - which to get.

Discussion related to external and internal GPS / GLONASS / Galileo / BeiDou sensors
shadowpuck
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★

External GPS - which to get.

Post by shadowpuck »

I'm a driving instructor and like to use laptimer to record laps at events.

what's the current thoughts on the best external GPS (dual xgps150, emprum?) to use with laptimer and either an iphone or an ipod touch?
i'm considering upgrading either my phone, or picking up one of the new ipod touch devices.

i'll be using either the iphone or ipod touch in the car, mounted on a dash mount that puts it next to the stereo - putting it on the windshield is not a good solution for my use. in some testing at the track this weekend, the internal GPS on the iphone was ok - it had some issues (nothing too surprising).

if i were to go with the dual xgps150 - will the iphone allow more than one bluetooth connection? if i'm using my phone for this purpose then i'd like to also be able to use it for navigation on the street so - i'd need to be able to connect it to my hands free in the car as well as the external GPS.....
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: External GPS - which to get.

Post by Harry »

Hi,

I assume you have seen this? http://www.gps-laptimer.de/Compatibility.html

To my knowledge, the iPhone's BT stack is able to connect to more than one BT device at a time. I have no personal experience however...

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
shadowpuck
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★

Post by shadowpuck »

harry,

thank you for the reply - and, great piece of software!

i did look at that page and found it to be a great summary.
i was just curious if there was any recent information given some of the improvements on the iphone, the ipod, as well as the software improvements in iOS, LapTimer, and the firmware updates for the various devices.