Harry's & VBOX Sport

Discussion related to external and internal GPS / GLONASS / Galileo / BeiDou sensors
Ned Loh
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts

Harry's & VBOX Sport

Post by Ned Loh »

Hi,

I have been using Harry's Lap Timer and Emprum UltiMate for a few years. I have been generally very happy with it, and will continue to use and support it. Recently I have been importing files into Circuit Tools in order analyze and improve lap times, however I feel I need more than 5Hz to get the most out of it. I am ready to buy a VBOX Sport to move to 20Hz, however I noticed this warning in red on the following page (and copied below):

http://www.racelogic.co.uk/usastore/pro ... VBOX-Sport

Will this issue effect the use of Harry's Lap Timer and the VBOX Sport?

Cheers.

**Update as of 5/7/14 - The VBOX Laptimer app has now been updated and works with the VBOX Sport. An update to PerformanceTest will be available shortly.**

*Apple’s iOS version 7.1 and 7.1.1 currently have an issue resulting in an unreliable Bluetooth connection to external devices. This issue is affecting VBOX Sport apps on Apple devices running iOS 7.1 and 7.1.1, leading to apps crashing due to a loss of connection. Apple devices running iOS 7.0 and earlier do not have this issue.

Apple is aware of this issue and is in the process of resolving it. In the meantime, Racelogic has developed a workaround for our iOS apps to reduce the effects of this issue. This workaround performs a Bluetooth communication test when the VBOX Sport Performance Test application is launched. If the application fails this test, it will need to be restarted until the test determines that Bluetooth communication is reliable. Our testing has shown that once the connection is established, it continues to work until the application is closed.