Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Discussion related to external and internal GPS / GLONASS / Galileo / BeiDou sensors
spunkt81
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:01 pm

Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by spunkt81 » Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:14 pm

I am using roqyBT4 with a Qstarz 818XT GPS-mouse.
Unfortunatelly Harrys laptimer receives gps fixes only with 4 Hz.

I am pretty sure that since i upgraded to a iPhone 4S.
With my old iPhone 4 a had refresh rates >8Hz. Also my iPad works with high refresh rates.

My current config:
iPhone 4S, iOS 6.1.1, jailbroken
with roqyBT4 1.3.2-2

Does anyone have the same problem?
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9581
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by Harry » Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:32 pm

Which iOS version do you use for the old iPhone4 and the iPad?

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
spunkt81
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by spunkt81 » Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:54 pm

My iPad is on 6.1 and on my old iPhone 4 iOS 5.0.1 was installed.
On my current iPhone 4S i had this problem since 5.1.1
spunkt81
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by spunkt81 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:33 pm

I tried this tweak: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1044

Seems to work quiet good. There are more fixes recorded and HLT shows a refresh rate constantly of 9,8 Hz. Does this mean that my gps mouse delivers fixes with 9,8 Hz? Because: When i turn off my mouse the refresh rate does not change.
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9581
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Siegum, Germany
Contact:

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by Harry » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:59 pm

The update rate displayed is a measured value. I have no idea why you see 9.8 Hz after having disconnected the GPS. For supported accessories ;-) LapTimer falls back to internal GPS, the update rate will go down from 9.8 or whatever to 1 Hz slowly.

- Harry
Image Image Image Image
Mike S2k
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 3:22 pm

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by Mike S2k » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:30 pm

I use BT stack GPS with my 818xt and works fine
spunkt81
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by spunkt81 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:30 pm

i'll try it on my next track day and give a feedback.
roqyBT
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by roqyBT » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:47 am

Hi,
I updated roqyBT4 to 1.4 for best rates updates and to correct issues people could have sometime (disconnection).
You should see full rate now.

thanks,
roqy
spunkt81
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:01 pm

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by spunkt81 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:58 pm

Unfortunatelly, after updating to 1.4.0-1 the refresh rate still sticks to 4 Hz.
But the trick viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1044 seems to work fine with 10Hz even with an additional gopoint BT1 coupled by iOS bluetooth menu.
WilsonSteele
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:40 pm

Re: Qstarz 818XT refresh Rate only 4 Hz

Post by WilsonSteele » Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:20 am

I use the BT-Q818XT with roqyBT4 with great success at 10Hz.
On my GPS unit, the on/off switch is actually a 3 way switch, the position are "on / 1hz / 10hz"
However, if you download the QStarz software, and connect the GPS mouse to your windows ocmputer by USB, you can configure these two positions to whatever refresh rate you want.

Back when I used HLT with a palm device, I had to set the maz rate to 4 Hz, the older BT connection didn't have nay higher data rate. So I had one position set at 2 Hz, and one position set at 4 Hz.

http://www.qstarz.com/download/GPS_Tester.rar

Now, on the iPhone version, I just use the 10Hz data.

HOWEVER, while the GPS Rate on hte GPS scrren says data at 10Hz while lapping, when I look at a recorded file of a lap in LapList, the GPS Sensor says Internal @ 8Hz, with something like 1047 fixes (GPS, ACCEL) in a 2 min lap.

I am not sure why that is, perhaps a bug for Harry to look at.
SpecMiata #159 '94 1.8L
SoCal NASA, USA
Post Reply