General procedure

All Optrix VideoPro related discussions
Saturnalian
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:31 am

General procedure

Postby Saturnalian » Sun May 27, 2012 8:29 am

Hi Harry,

Grabbed this App today to start playing with video on the iPhone before i start attempting it with HLT at my track days.

I can't seem to find any documentation about the VideoPro process anywhere online.
What is the general process that needs to happen to get to the finished product.

Went out for a ride today and the first run seemed to record data but no video, the second run i did recorded video but there was no data to overlay.

Can you tell me what steps is the App supposed to do to get to the finished product.

Many thanks,

Jamie


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: General procedure

Postby Harry » Sun May 27, 2012 8:41 am

Hi Jamie,

Is this question on Optrix Video Pro or Harry's LapTimer?

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Saturnalian
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:31 am

Re: General procedure

Postby Saturnalian » Sun May 27, 2012 12:35 pm

Harry wrote:Hi Jamie,

Is this question on Optrix Video Pro or Harry's LapTimer?

- Harry


Hi Harry,

This is a Video Pro question. Lap Timer is rocking along just fine...!!

Jamie


Merlin
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: General procedure

Postby Merlin » Tue May 29, 2012 2:54 pm

Please can someone answer this question^^

I have also bought the Video Pro app but cannot get the vid to output with the data overlayed :(


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: General procedure

Postby Harry » Tue May 29, 2012 4:00 pm

Sorry, thought I had answered this already. VideoPro is pretty simple: once you have manually recorded a track using the Video View, you find the raw video and the data recording in the Recordings list. Select this recording and press the Overlay button provided. This will generate a video overlaid with the data (similar to what you see as a preview on screen while recording).

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Merlin
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: General procedure

Postby Merlin » Tue May 29, 2012 4:55 pm

Many thanks, I had managed to figure it out in the end (I stumbled over it). One other question though, what does the padlock icon do on the recording screen? It doesn't lock the buttons. Is there any plans to make the driver name longer than three characters? Other than that im impressed with it!


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: General procedure

Postby Harry » Tue May 29, 2012 6:02 pm

The padlock allows setting a fixed focus (versus continuous autofocus). Fixed focus fixes the focus once and leaves it like this independent of changes in front of the camera.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Saturnalian
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:31 am

Re: General procedure

Postby Saturnalian » Wed May 30, 2012 8:46 am

Thanks Harry,

Any thoughts on this. I was using a Dual XGPS150 and the signal icon was all green bars with the GPS before i began the journey.
Attached is a picture of the message that comes up when i try to do the overlay.
The recording list only shows 2 GPS fixes.

thanks,

Jamie

IMG_0952.PNG
IMG_0952.PNG (230.09 KiB) Viewed 4331 times


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8286
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 96 times
Been thanked: 343 times
Contact:

Re: General procedure

Postby Harry » Wed May 30, 2012 9:23 am

Problem with the GPS connection I guess. There is no other reason I could think of. Sometimes the connection between an external GPS and your iPhone is established but actually not working. Restarting the app / the GPS mouse usually helps. You can check if you connection is really delivering GPS fixes looking into the status bar in Video View. The red / yellow / green bar shows the quality of the LAST FIX RECEIVED. This fix however, can date back some time... So in addition, every time a fix is coming in, the small satellite's beam blinks. So to check you connection, make sure it blinks AND the bar is green.

Hope that helps, Harry


Image Image Image Image
vernesmooth
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:27 am
Location: http://www.buydvdworld.com/
Contact:

Re: General procedure

Postby vernesmooth » Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:46 am

This is a Video Pro question. Lap Timer is rocking along just fine...!!


Best DVD -Revenge Season 1 DVD makes our recommandation rewarding.

Return to “VideoPro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest