Any work-around or future fix for the Count-up Timer

All Optrix VideoPro related discussions
Replayman
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:50 pm

Any work-around or future fix for the Count-up Timer

Postby Replayman » Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:58 pm

I really like the VideoPro App, the simplicity and all cool data that it records. But, the COunt-up Timer built into the app I have issue with. I was wondering if there are plans for a fix or work-around for the Timer?
Problem...I use the video in my Autocross races, and have to hit the record button early so I can put on my gloves, get ready, etc.. Once I hit Record the Timer starts...the race doesn't start until much later. When I watch the video back, or edit it and cut out the beginning. The Timer is already 2 minutes or so in, and becomes irrelevant, even distracting.
Is there anyway of fixing or getting around this?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7868
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 328 times
Contact:

Re: Any work-around or future fix for the Count-up Timer

Postby Harry » Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:19 pm

I see your point but have a problem adding a feature like this to VideoPro. Simplicity is indeed a design principle for VideoPro - especially compared to Harry's LapTimer. In LapTimer your requirement is fully met. You can start video recording at any time and get the count down when a trigger is passed (starting line). LapTimer differentiates between video recording and laps. For VideoPro one video is one lap. Adding a feature like that in VideoPro would make this a specialists app (this whole trigger topic is simply too much for users wanting some video recording). So for AX and similar events, please consider LapTimer (Petrolhead or Grand Prix).

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Replayman
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: Any work-around or future fix for the Count-up Timer

Postby Replayman » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:48 pm

Thank you for the response, I intinitially had the notion that the overlay process in Lap Timer required PC software and was not MAC friendly. I was either thinking of something else or misunderstood. I just found a PDF of Lap Timer Documentation. And if I'm correct, overlay process is done on the iPhone. So, I could actually use it...being a Apple user?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7868
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 328 times
Contact:

Re: Any work-around or future fix for the Count-up Timer

Postby Harry » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:27 pm

VideoPro is fully based on LapTimer. So yes, overlay can be produced on your iPhone using LapTimer just like you do it in VideoPro. It has more options (see above), but is more complex too.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
Replayman
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: Any work-around or future fix for the Count-up Timer

Postby Replayman » Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:19 pm

What about...just a a check box to "Include Timer" or "Not Include Timer", on the overlay screen" Similiar to what you have on Lap Timer. Probably easier said, than done...especially if no else is complaining about it. oh well, it's worth a try. Great apps, thanks.



Return to “VideoPro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest