Status of HERO5 support

News and updates from the author // Read only
User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8370
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Contact:

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby Harry » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:50 pm

Sorry, I missed that. I have seen lags for iPhone with an extremely big number of videos stored in the Photo library. More than 100 clips... You may want to check this.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
phil9417
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:06 pm

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby phil9417 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:51 pm

Do we know what the refresh rate is on the Hero 5 GPS?

I downloaded both the Hero 5 gps data and the laptimer iphone data and it seems like the hero 5 has more data points from the GoPro built in GPS.

Is it better to use the GoPro gps data rather than iphone gps data?


User avatar
Harry
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8370
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Cologne, Germany
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Contact:

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby Harry » Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:41 am

I have not found official specs on the GoPro GPS, but a guy on Twitter claimed it is 18 Hz. Personally, I doubt that because it is not a rate any GPS chip I know delivers. Furthermore, a 18 Hz GPS is not necessary for any GoPro application and would drain the battery faster than necessary. The reason smartphone GPSes come with 1 Hz is both about the typical navigation use case, and because faster rates drain the battery faster. To get a good overlay, 5 or 10 Hz is good enough because it can be interpolated to video frames.

But anyway - besides the problem with the already short battery live of action cams, the data exposed to 3rd parties is too limited to be used by LapTimer. So even if the GoPro has a better GPS, it can't be used currently.

- Harry


Image Image Image Image
phil9417
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:06 pm

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby phil9417 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:57 pm

Using Dashware, I was able to extract the Hero 5 gps data file. I can use it to overlay onto the GoPro video using the Dashware software as well. The gps data is embedded into the GoPro video file as a track similar to a video or audio track. It can be extracted from the video file.

Looking at the data output file vs the Harry Laptimer data file, the GoPro data has many more points. I used Laptimer to time laps and trigger the GoPro so I have both Laptimer and GoPro gps data for the same lap.

Here is my 2.7K 60 fps video from Hero 5 with GoPro gps data overlaid at the Nurburgring:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnxdhzHasN8


OnboardTV
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:01 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby OnboardTV » Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:20 pm

18 Hz refresh rate seems very high, given that GoPro only uses the GPS for geo tagging. It seems odd that they would use a faster (more expensive / battery intensive) chip than 1hz. How did you extract the GPS data from within DashWare?


gplracerx
20 or more Posts ★★★
20 or more Posts ★★★
Posts: 814
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Kingsport, TN USA
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby gplracerx » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:26 pm

Looking at the data output file vs the Harry Laptimer data file, the GoPro data has many more points.


But do the points all have different values when you're moving?


phil9417
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:06 pm

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby phil9417 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:11 pm

When you open the video file in Dashware, it asks you to load the gps data from the GoPro video file.

Also, when you merge GoPro video files, it will automatically generate a CSV file with all the gps data in it. The merged video will not contain the gps/accelerometer data tracks.

As for comparing the values, I haven't looked at if they are very different. I just know the number of records are much greater in the GoPro gps file.

The speed reading seems to be finer than the iphone gps data. The iphone data overlay will show jumps on the speed displayed as it tries to fill in the gaps.


phil9417
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:06 pm

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby phil9417 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:15 pm

Also, Dashware is owned by GoPro now... which may be why it's integration with GoPro gps data is so easy to work with.

Dashware is still free to download and use.


OnboardTV
10 or more Posts ★
10 or more Posts ★
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:01 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby OnboardTV » Fri May 19, 2017 9:04 pm

Are you still planning to add compatibility for the Hero5 Session any time soon? It's a great little camera, picture quality is excellent and many people use it at the track, I thought it would be added with 21.0.5 but no :(


somdara
Fewer than 10 Posts
Fewer than 10 Posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 3:50 pm

Re: Status of HERO5 support

Postby somdara » Tue May 30, 2017 3:51 pm

I have access to all models of GoPro, will be happy to help any way I can. :)


โกลเด้นสล็อต

goldenslot



Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest